top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGAMMA PSI

2020 Seniors: A look back on the last 4 years


This past month, we celebrated our 5 seniors who were granted alumnae status and ended the collegiate chapter of their Gamma Phi Beta experience. The past 4 years we shared with these women have gone too fast, and countless memories have been made since they first stepped foot in 2115 Merner Ave. Read on to hear the highlights of their time in Gamma Phi Beta and their plans for the future!

 

2017-2018

Our seniors’ journeys began back in the 2017-2018 academic year. Whether it were through formal recruitment or COB, our seniors opened their bid card and got to call Gamma Phi Beta home for the first time this year. They were initiated and made official, got their moms, attended their first sisterhood, formal, and mixer, and grew closer to their sisters. In addition, they:

  • Hosted Moonball

  • Raised money for Girls on the Run at Chips and Cheese with the GPhiB’s



 

2018-2019

In their second year in Gamma Phi Beta, our seniors got to add dots to their families at the fall and spring sisterhood retreats! They celebrated 50 years of Gamma Psi at an anniversary celebration with sisters and alumnae. They contributed to our chapter success, as they:

  • In Fall 2018, received 2nd highest chapter GPA of UNI sororities

  • In Spring 2019, had the most 4.0’s in a chapter of UNI sororities

  • Won Greek Week!

  • Raised $2,426 at first ever Gamma Phi Hop


 

2019-2020

The school year started out normal for our seniors, with a successful formal recruitment bringing home 17 new sisters, a tailgate sisterhood and a fun Panther football game together to follow, and countless memories made with sisters throughout the fall. In March of 2020, everything changed with COVID-19, but our sisters persevered through school and kept their friendships strong, even though students were sent home. Their achievements this year include:

  • In Fall 2019, achieved 2nd highest chapter GPA of UNI sororities

  • In Spring 2020, achieved the 2nd highest chapter GPA of UNI sororities

  • In Spring 2020, tied for most 4.0’s in chapter of UNI sororities

  • Raised over $3,000 at Moonball, where over 200 people were in attendance

  • Raised $2,279.13 at Gamma Phi Hop


 

2020

Our seniors’ last semester in Gamma Phi didn’t look like they expected to. But still, they enjoyed a fun last couple of months together with safe get togethers and virtual sisterhoods and celebrations. In this tumultuous semester, our seniors:

  • Thrived at planning and executing a Zoom recruitment

  • Recruited 17 new four core women

  • Had a rockin' and safe bid day

  • Raised $3160.88 at a virtual philanthropy week

  • Led an organization through a pandemic in their leadership roles


 


Gamma Phi Beta Class of Fall 2020



Payton Miller

Degree: Elementary Education & Middle-Level Education Dual-Major, Basic Science (K-8) Minor


Future Plans: I begin student teaching in January for my first placement in 4th grade and the other in 7th/8th grade math. During that time I will be looking for a middle school science teaching job! I hope to find a job near home, but will definitely be open to being able to move and experience a new place for a couple of years!


My Time in Gamma Phi: I don't even know where to begin. I gained so much during my time in Gamma Phi Beta. I have grown in my self-confidence and leadership skills, made so many new connections (both professionally and personally), and have made my favorite memories. I was able to Build Strong Girls while supporting Girls On the Run. I met my lifelong best friends and made new friendships in other chapters. To keep it short, I had the absolute best time of my life.



Erika Shahan

Degree: Elementary education and middle level education (dual major)


Future Plans: Next, I will be student teaching in Norwalk and Des Moines.


My time in Gamma Phi: Gamma Phi is what made Cedar falls feel like home to me. It pushed me out of my comfort zone in order to lead me towards an abundance of opportunities and friendships. The friendships I made during my time in the chapter will last a lifetime & I can confidently say I found my lifelong best friends within Gamma Phi. This organization has given me so much, and I honestly could not imagine my college career without this amazing organization or my sisters. I’m going to miss being a collegiate member more than anything, but I am thankful this organization provided me with the tools I need in order to be successful in this next chapter of life. <3




Abby Steill

Major: Elementary and Special Education - Strategist I


Future Plans: I will be student teaching at Bronson Elementary just outside of Sioux City next semester in 3rd grade and special education. From there, I will either continue onto graduate school or move to Des Moines in search of a special education teaching position. We shall see what the future holds!


I cannot imagine my college experience without Gamma Phi Beta. From holding a variety of leadership positions to attending all of the social events/sisterhoods the chapter had to offer to laughing uncontrollably with my best friends to living in the house with some lovely ladies, I will treasure the memories I created in Gamma Phi Beta for the rest of my life. This chapter truly shaped me into the woman I am today and I couldn’t be more grateful!




Kennedy Chapman

Major: Elementary Education with a minor in Mathematics (K-8)


Future Plans: Student teaching in Linn-Mar schools and then hoping to begin teaching in the Cedar Rapids area in August!


My time in GPhi was the most memorable part of my college experience at UNI. I had so many opportunities like serving as Education Vice President, Academics Chairwoman, and on many committees. During my junior year I was able to live in the house with an amazing group of girls and it truly was the best place to live. I have met my best friends and future bridesmaids through GPhi and I know that my love for the chapter will last a lifetime!




Taylor Kress


Major: Elementary Education with minors in Special Education and Literacy



Future Plans: Finish up my Literacy minor at UNI and then head back home to student teach!


Favorite memory: Making lifelong friends and living with my best friends!







110 views0 comments
bottom of page